Press Release
BASIS in Media
Current News
Press Kit
Upcoming Events
18 Apr 2018
BASIS-CPTU Meeting Held
08 Apr 2018
BASIS Executive Council’s Installation Ceremony Held
02 Apr 2018
Syed Almas Kabir is the New President of BASIS
31 Mar 2018
BASIS Executive Council Election (2018-2020) Held
15 Mar 2018
BASIS Executive Council Election will take Place on 31 March, 2018
More News
Home » Current News » News Detail
BASIS Delegation met Bangladesh Bank Governor
12 Aug 2012

The newly elected BASIS Executive Council met Bangladesh Bank Governor Dr. Atiur Rahman on Aug 7 at his office. BASIS delegation was led by Fahim Mashroor, President BASIS.


During the meeting the BASIS delegation thanked Dr. Atiur Rahman for his supportive roles for the software and ITES industry, particularly in the area of e-payment, simplification of foreign exchange rules and IT financing. BASIS delegation gave few specific proposals with regard to foreign exchange transaction, e-commerce transaction and financing facility (EEF and SME loan) for IT companies (click here for BASIS proposal to Bangladesh Bank). BASIS delegation requested Governor to allow LC based payment for software import so that proper import records (of software) can be maintained. For e-Commerce promotion BASIS delegation requested for Bangladesh Bank guideline and direction for maximum 2% transaction fee for e-commerce transactions. BASIS also raised concern about recent move by BTRC for stopping online payment for online mobile/internet payment and requested Bangladesh Bank to coordinate with BTRC for resolving the issue.


Regarding EEF, BASIS delegation raised concern about the slow process of approval and disbursement for IT ventures. Dr. Atiur Rahman assured his support in making the process faster through bringing policy changes in the process. BASIS also requested for special allocation of SME loan financing facility (JICA project) of Bangladesh Bank.


Others present during the meeting were Dr. Nazneen Sultana, Deputy Governor Bangladesh Bank, Mr. Ahsan Ullah, Executive Director, Foreign Exchange, Mr. Das Gupta Ashim Kumar, Executive Director, Payment Division. From BASIS Executive Council, Mr. Russell T Ahmed Secretary General, Syed Almas Kabir, Vice President, Rashidul Hasan, Joint Secretary General, Imraul Kaeesh, Director and Navidul Haq, Director were present.

Share |

User ID
Can't login?

Copyright © 2018 BASIS. All rights reserved.